Board & Advisors

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Board of Directors
Advisory Council

Board of Directors

  • Cameron Duncan (President)
    Southwest Organizing School/National Labor College
  • Eric Dirnbach (Vice President)
    Research Director - Green Jobs Campaign, LiUNA!
  • Christopher Townsend (Secretary)
    Washington Staff, United Electrical Workers
  • Katherine Isaac (Treasurer)
    American Association of University Professors

  • Arturo Alcalde Justiniani (International Affairs Director, National Association of Democratic Lawyers of Mexico)
  • John Cavanagh (Director, Institute for Policy Studies)
  • Rini Chakraborty (Senior Program Officer, Four Freedoms Fund)
  • May Chen (Consultant, Workers United/SEIU)
  • Lance Compa (Senior Lecturer, School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University)
  • Judy Gearhart (Executive Director, International Labor Rights Forum)
  • Ken Grossinger (Principal, Democracy Partners)
  • Sarita Gupta (Executive Director, Jobs with Justice)
  • Mark Harrison (Director of the Peace with Justice Program, United Methodist General Board of Church and Society)
  • Yvette Herrera (Senior Director, Communication Workers of America)
  • Owen Herrnstadt (Director of Trade and Globalization, International Association of Machinists)
  • Yvette Pena-Lopes (Director of Legislation and Intergovernmental Affairs, Blue Green Alliance)
  • Katie Quan(Labor Specialist, Center for Labor Research and Education, University of California at Berkeley)
  • Carol Rosenblatt (Executive Director, Coalition of Labor Union Women)
  • Omar Salazar (Executive Director, ASEPROLA, Costa Rica)
  • Kailash Satyarthi (President, South Asian Coalition on Child Servitude, India)
  • Representative Jan Schakowsky (U.S. House of Representatives (D-IL))
  • Daniel Smith, ILRF General Counsel, (Attorney, Amalgamated Transit Union)


Advisory Council

  • Bishop Jesse De Witt (President Emeritus), United Methodist Church
  • Bill Fletcher (President Emeritus), America Federation of Government Employees
  • Ray Marshall (President Emeritus)
    U.S. Secretary of Labor (1977-81), Professor, University of Texas at Austin
  • Bama Athreya (ILRF staff & executive director, 1998-2010) 
  • Peggy Billings (United Methodist Church)
  • Robin Broad (American University)
  • Anita Chan (Australian National University)
  • Audrey Chapman (University of Connecticut School of Medicine)
  • Steve Charnovitz (Wilmer, Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP)
  • Sarah Cleveland (Columbia Law School and Office of the Legal Adviser, U.S. State Dept)
  • Terry Collingsworth (Conrad & Scherer)
  • Keith Geiger (National Education Association)
  • Jim Hightower (Hightower & Associates)
  • John H. Hovis (United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America)
  • Kjeld Jakobsen (Central Unica de Trabalhadores, Brazil)
  • Somsak Kosaisook (State Enterprise Worker Relations Confederation, Thailand)
  • Atherton Martin (The Development Institute, Dominica, West Indies)
  • Muchtar Pakpahan (Indonesian Prosperity Workers' Union (SBSI), Indonesia)
  • Senator Bernie Sanders (VT)
  • Robert White (Center for International Policy)